Investment Portal of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

List of key settlements in the Russian Arctic has been established

For each key settlement, a comprehensive socio-economic development plan will be formulated up to 2035, with funding sources identified.

12 October 2023

The list of key settlements in the Russian Arctic was compiled following the first meeting of the Headquarters for the Development of Cities and Other Settlements in the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation, chaired by Alexey Chekunkov, Minister for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic, and Andrey Chibis, Governor of the Murmansk Region.

Key cities are strategically significant settlements that will receive systematic state support. The list includes the Murmansk agglomeration (comprising Murmansk, Kola district, and Closed Administrative-Territorial Unit Severomorsk), Kirov-Apatitskaya and Monchegorsk agglomerations in the Murmansk Region, Kemsko-Belomorskaya agglomeration in the Republic of Karelia, Arkhangelsk agglomeration (including Arkhangelsk and Severodvinsk) in the Arkhangelsk Region, Naryan-Mar in the Nenets Autonomous Area, Salekhard-Labytnangi agglomeration and the cities of Novy Urengoy and Noyabrsk in the Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Area, Vorkuta agglomeration in the Komi Republic, Norilsk-Dudinka agglomeration, Dikson and Igarka and Tiksi with its surrounding territories in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), as well as Anadyr and Pevek in the Chukotka Autonomous Area.

The list was compiled by the Russian Government in collaboration with regions that are either fully or partially within the Arctic zone. 'Identifying the key settlements in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation will bolster the socio-economic backbone of the Russian Arctic,' stated Alexey Chekunkov, Chairman of the Minister for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic.


See all


Read more