Investment Portal of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

Two of the largest universities in the AZRF will merge to form Murmansk Arctic University

In April 2023, the Murmansk Arctic University will appear in the Arctic region, formed by the merger of Murmansk Arctic State University (MASU) and Murmansk State Technical University (MSTU), the two largest universities in the AZRF.

7 November 2022

The package of documents required to formalise the process will be sent to the federal Ministry of Education this week. The universities expect the next admission campaign to take place already after integration, said Maria Knyazeva, Acting Rector of MSTU. Alexander Stotsky, General Director of the Project Office for Arctic Development, talks about this.

The university administration gives assurances that all university training programmes will be maintained, while the current teachers will remain in their positions. However, departments and faculties will be transformed during the reorganisation.

An important innovation will be the increased participation in the educational activities of the new university by industrial partners—major 'consumers' of staff and competencies from among the key players in the Polar region's economy. These include companies such as Atomflot, Nornickel, Novatek, Gazpromneft, Rosneft, Sberbank, Murmansk Commercial Seaport, etc. Industrial partners will have the opportunity to directly influence the content of training for future employees.

The launch of the new university could open a new page in the history of Arctic education.


See all


Read more